The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My yearling Togg doe kidded on June 12th her single buckling is nursing off of her so her udder is not full. We are doing DHIR testing and we had to take him off of her for a little while when she was full her milk weighed in at 3.0. Is 3.0 good for being two weeks fresh as a FF? Anyways can you please tell me the goods and bad's of her udder!

image-232771864.jpg

image-3013405957.jpg

image-762879329.jpg

Oh yeah I forgot, sorry her udder isn't shaved yet, so just critique what you can of her hairy udder!

image-2200559122.jpg

The last photo is of her completely milked out.

Attachments

·
2,962 Posts
It would be better to see the udder full to make an accurate judgement. I am no expert but she looks to have a decent udder. The teats are nice and plumb, meaning they hang down straight. The fore udder looks like it is smoothly blended into the abdomen but could use a longer for fore udder. She is a FF so her udder could use more capacity but that will come. Medial looks good. All in all it is a very nice FF udder.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It would be better to see the udder full to make an accurate judgement. I am no expert but she looks to have a decent udder. The teats are nice and plumb, meaning they hang down straight. The fore udder looks like it is smoothly blended into the abdomen but could use a longer for fore udder. She is a FF so her udder could use more capacity but that will come. Medial looks good. All in all it is a very nice FF udder.
Thanks! Yeah, next week we are sending her kid to the auction so her udder will be full, If I can remember I'll take pictures.

·
Registered
17,285 Posts
So 6# per day, no, that's not very good, but it should go up a little bit, beings as peak production is at 12 weeks fresh. She wouldn't get her milk star at a one day competition though.