The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This year i got an incubator and set about 20 eggs, and yesterday they finally started to hatch! Im so excited, right now there is 2 dry chicks and 3 damp ones that just hatched.

So far every one did fine hatching but now there is a little chick with a quarter sized place with no shell but it still has the papery stuff under the shell. And it has a tiny hole where its beak is. It's still moving but its been a few hours now since it started hatching and it has a little blood on the inside and the papery stuff went from see through but now its white.

Was it just not ready to hatch yet? This is my first time incubating and i looked for some stuff about it online and thought i would try here too. Do any of yall know if its normal?

·
Pygmy Guru, Nubian Newbie
159 Posts
It sounds like the chick is ready hatch. From the sounds of it the chick might be stuck in its membrane and could possibly need help out of the shell (or the membrane will dry and basically glue the chick to the inside of the egg, which it die from). Make sure there is a good amount of moisture in the incubator, so you can prevent this.

Majority of my small farm is chickens, so I've seen blood, goo, membrane, cracks, hatchings, and deaths a load of times. Anyways, best of luck with hatching.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok i opened it up a little more and pulled off some of its shell a while ago and i came back to look and its almost all the way out. Maybe he will be ok now.

Thanks for the replies :) i was too scared i would hurt it because I've read all this stuff like "don't touch it, let it do it by itself" kind of stuff but i don't think it could have made it out alone.
I mean mama hens peck at eggs while they are hatching to help them out so i didnt think it was a big deal as some people make it.

·
2,203 Posts