The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I am new to this side of goat raising - my family has been raising goats for about 5 years and we butchered one of our wethers and was surprised at how much we all liked eating goat! So we’re looking to add meat breeds to our homestead as my husband brought home a cow so dairy isn’t something we need much anymore (but I ADORE goats and want to keep raising them).
I currently have a mini LaMancha and a full LaMancha - would it be possible to breed them to a meat buck (Kiko/Boer)? I figured I could with my full LaMancha (she’s on the larger side at 160lbs) but my mini LaMancha I’m not sure about (about 90lbs).
Also, we live up in Maine and I was wondering if anyone had any good breeders to suggest to us? I’ve checked the usual Craigslist/Uncle Henry’s world but I haven’t found anyone who tests their herds, which makes me VERY nervous (a friend just dealt with a CAE positive goat and I do not want that).
Thank you so much!

·
Registered
Kinder Goat Breeder
4,640 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
You may want to look into fainters. They are bred as meat goats and they may be okay to cross with the mini lamancha too. You'd have to do some looking into kid birth weights to be sure.

You could always request to pay for disease testing before you bought from a seller.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Welcome to the forum!
You may want to look into fainters. They are bred as meat goats and they may be okay to cross with the mini lamancha too. You'd have to do some looking into kid birth weights to be sure.

You could always request to pay for disease testing before you bought from a seller.
Thank you!
I’ve never considered Tennessee Fainting goats because I read they seize up after being startled, which bothered me. Is that actually a thing? I would consider them if they didn’t actually have that.
Thanks again!

·
Premium Member