First freshener with hard udder

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by TDen81, Feb 17, 2018.

1. TDen81

TDen81 New Member

Feb 17, 2018
    I have a goat who is a first freshener and she's got some really crazy things going on with her udder. I'm a complete newbie, so I'll start from the beginning:

This doe developed a small, but full looking udder that was hard as a rock before she was ever exposed to a buck. I was told this was "percocious udder" and that it would take care of itself. I kept a watch on it and although it remained hard, it didn't grow and was never warm or red or showed any signs of being infected or fevered. She was bred and the hard udder still never went away, but did enlarge. I assumed this was because she was actually pregnant. The udder got quite large and remained hard, but has never been fevered or red and she seemed completely healthy otherwise so I didn't worry about it. I assumed it would resolve after she kidded.

She has now kidded and the kids are a little over two weeks old. They are growing well and appear very healthy. I attempted to milk her for the first time this morning. It did NOT go as I expected. Her udder is extremely large and very hard. I got almost a half a gallon of milk from her before I gave up, but it was very difficult due to how hard her udder is- on BOTH sides. It even appears misshapen in some areas. There were no strings, clots, or blood in the milk. The udder is not fevered or red in any way. Massaging didn't appear to help at all. She's a nightmare to milk, but I don't think she was in pain when I milked. It's just that it was her first time to be milked and she is notoriously just an uncooperative, cantankerous goat (for lack of a better word, lol).