The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just went for a short hike to the top of a small hill near my house. It was the first time I had my year and a half buck off lead. I am new to goat packing and have never been quite sure if it would work out. When Dragon is on the lead he does okay but sometimes fights it and is always trying to eat. But thanks to peoples discussions here on this forum I just tried it out and let him off the lead and took off without him. As soon as I let him off he just starting browsing but once I was about 50 feet away, he suddenly was worried or scared or something cause he starting to whine and look for me. I called to him and he came running. Haha! I was very excited, and started to run away from him to encourage him to want to follow me even more badly. I stopped after a couple minutes to take a breather and take a picture. We continued on, with him closely behind me the whole way. Anyway, just wanted to share that, maybe it can help someone.

Attachments

·
Registered
207 Posts
Congrats!

I brought a new potential packer home today. I took him on our standard 1/2 mile training hike, just me, him and Quincy (my dog).

He followed along, somewhat reluctantly leaving all the goats maaa-ing loudly about being behind. About two thirds of the way out he turned to run home. Made it about 1/2 way back before he realize he was now completely alone. I maaa-ed loudly and he came running back! :D

He stayed close for the rest of the hike.

I have high hopes for him, just got to get him (and me) in shape!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·