First Milk Attempt - Ugh

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by BeeLady, Jun 7, 2009.

1. BeeLady

BeeLady New Member

My does kidded a month ago and I've been on vacation the last two weeks so finally separated kids from does last night for first time so I could milk this morning.

Got all my stuff together and took it all out (bucket, teat dip container, teat dip, cloths for cleaning, etc) ready to go. First thing, I sat on my milking stool, a leg on the stool broke and I went sprawling on my back. It went downhill from there.

First doe, Spice, almost finished her grain by time I recovered from my spill. I forgot to use the strip cup and after a few squirts of milk, she was done. I ended up holding one leg and milking with one hand. And I'm new at milking so my technique was not very efficient. Somehow she got her foot in the bucket a few times so I knew this was a practice run. After fighting with her for about 5 minutes, I let her off the stand.

With Ginger, I remembered the strip cup at the beginning and the teat dip at the end. In between those two things, she did stand still while I milked and was easier to milk due to bigger teats.

I ended up with about 1/4 cup of milk total. I'm willing to write this off as a practice session (what choice do I have????) but don't know if I can expect much better in the future. I think part of the distraction was the does could hear their kids screaming in the background, my nervousness and disorganization and the newness of having their kids away and the milking in general. Also, I think I'll need some kind of hobble for Spice until she realizes she stays still until I tell her she can go. Any homemade suggestions for these small goats? I know Hoeggers sells one but it may be too large for the minis.

Should I hope for better in the future or just keep my expectations low until their second freshening?
  2. K-Ro

K-Ro New Member

Oct 13, 2007