The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been raising chickens for a few years now, and have plenty of eggs :) now I'm thinking about venturing into raising goats. I've had two goats growing up (but really just as pets). So I was wondering if there were any opinions about how to pair them. Should I get two females or a female and a wethered male?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Initially, I was thinking two females. Staggering them out so they aren't pregnant at the same time. But when I was at the farm looking at goats the farmer suggested F/wethered male because males make good pets for the kids and dealing with just one pregnant goat can be stressful. But he could have been just trying to sell his male babies :)

I guess potentially milking two goats can time consuming...

·
Registered
The Monkhood
3,487 Posts
Just an impression from reading other posts, a wether and doe pair will sometimes lead to undesirable results within the herd dynamics depending on the personalities involved. Even though a wether can't impregnant a doe, he may still be able to detect the heat cycles and could engage in annoying the female(s) with chasing and mounting behavior. Also, a wether can be a rough and tumble male when it comes to dominance over a female and naturally has an inherent desire to prove he is the "top goat" within the herd. There could be times when the wether would head butt, ram, and purposely try to intimidate the female(s), and possibly excessively so during certain times. Male goats will test their strength, sparing abilities, hierarchy and breeding rights with other males. If other males are not a part of the herd, the female(s) seem to take the brunt of the male behaviorism. Female goats also have a hierarchy within their herd and can/will display signs of dominance against each other very similar to what could be seen between males.