The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three does that I purchased to start my breeding project, what is usually a good age to try to breed them at? Where do you guys suggest getting kidding stalls? I'm liking the idea of the outdoor dog kennels made of chain link that you can buy from Home Depot (they have flooring, shade cloths and weather proof roofs available too), but am up for other suggestions. One of the goats I got came from a lady who separates the babies from mom at around 6 days old and starts to bottle feed them mamas milk to make them more socialized, is that a good idea? How long should I wait to breed the females again after they've kidded? I'm a total newbie in this world and am up for any and all advice that can be offered. I have Lamancha, Nubian, and Nigerians that I'm trying to breed. I like the milking breeds, and the ones I have so far are pretty decent goats. I've also got a website/facebook page for my goat project, any suggestions on how to advertise better? I've been taking my Nigerian female with me to farmers market to try and spread the word, but I'm not sure how far it's getting.

·
Registered
7,609 Posts