The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, long time googler of questions that lead me here, first time poster.
I have a first time nubian doe that kidded yesterday, healthy babies, easy birth. Ive seen both nurse on her at times, but today one side of her udder was real big and hard.
After some research, i decided to milk it out. No stink, smelled like good clean milk. I offered it to the babies, but they dont like the nipple, and went straight back to nursing on mama when they were back in the pen.
So the real question:
Ive got 2 cups of milk out of that teat that the babies dont want. Would it be gross to drink it? Or would it be better to freeze it and save for emergencies?
This is my first year with babies. I milked another last year but she had already weaned her kids. Im just wondering about the colostrum content

Attachments

·
Registered
3,990 Posts
Welcome to the forum! I can not help you, I have never kidded.

·
Registered
4,120 Posts
Welcome! I always suspect something wrong with the milk if the kid does not like it. Have you tested with CMT? If you do not have it, maybe some cow owner nearby can sell or offer you a "sip"? You can also try it yourself. If it tastes salty, it is not good for any kid. Others will have more advice! Congratulations to cute kids!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the advice. I just tasted it. Tastes like sweet creamy goat milk. It was just the nipple on the bottle they werent a fan of, because they went back to nursing on mama after i tried to bottle feed.

·
Registered
4,120 Posts
But they suck from only one teat? Maybe they just got used to that. In that case the other teat is yours. Congrats - if you like milk! They look healthy, so just check that they do jump and play as kids shall. Then you know they get enough.

PS - and if you get your CMT from a cow owner, remember that goats have more cells in their milk than cows.

·