The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a saanen doe and she is a first time freshener and I was wondering how to train her without a milk stand? I will be milking her soon so i need to know how to train her. I have been rubbing her belly and messing with her udders to try and get her use to it but it dose not seem to be working.

Also I am going to be getting a friend for her soon so what is a good breed. I want something different that a saanen.

Thanks for the help

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts
btw - i'm fairly new to this as well. been milking for a few weeks now, and not too many spills!

what I did with my girl was mess around with her when she's busy eating. she's either tied to the fence or in her sleeping quarters, always with a wall to one side so she can't spin around. also, I find they tend not to squirm too much when you're doing something they like while doing something they don't like (e.g. scratching between the horns while touching udders).

I find with my girl, I find she likes routine. I milk her in the mornings only (baby gets milk the rest of the day, and I pen him up at night). I go with my warm vinegar water with a cloth, bucket and food. put the food down, wash her teats with the warm cloth then I start. I find if I don't do these things, she's not as nice to let me milk. it takes a few days/week to establish the routine, but once they know what's coming, they'll be more receptive.

I have alpine/togg/Nubian crosses. and from what I've read, all goats are good breeds! you have any good goat breeders in your neighbourhood that you can go visit with and get to know the different breeds in person?

·
2,203 Posts