The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

Its been a long time since I posted but all is well on the farm. I recently expanded my little herd of goats to include a pair of pregnant does who are due on April 1st and 2nd respectively. They are settling into the farm very well and the wethers are learning to play nicely with them.

I'm completely new to goat kidding and appreciate any advice. I'm currently putting the finishing touches on their kidding stalls. When should I start to introduce them to their stalls? Should they be confined to the stalls all the time during the week of their due dates? Any other suggestions are most welcome!

Here are some photos of the new gals, Dixie the black and white and Caddy the multi-colored.

The day they came home

The whole herd through the gate!

·
14,615 Posts
Beautiful goaties you got there & your set up is just great!

We all handle kidding time a little different, I put mine in at the very last minute,I have a couple that give me no warning till kids on the ground. :hair:

·
Registered
6,289 Posts
Some nice, healthy looking goaties you have there! I don't usually put mine in the kidding stall till they are showing signs of kidding. Or if I need to watch them on the camera, then they go in at night.

·
Registered
844 Posts
I love your set up!!!!! I also wait until the very last minute- but I am home during the day and watch my goats like children!

·
Registered
135 Posts
They are gorgeous!