The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time owning goats, we bought boots and she was already prego. I am thinking she may be ready to birth soon but she is not really people friendly and I can't really tell. I have read all about it but thought it couldn't hurt to ask!! We have moved her away from the billy and into a spot a bit warmer. I don't want to spend the entire night checking on her if it is unnecessary. She is chewing, not really grinding her teeth but more like a soft chewing. And she was acting distant from the others and they were all picking on her - not letting her eat, chasing her away - which is why I decided to move her over today. I an see her belly moving, I would love to touch but she won't allow it, Any ideas of how to tell when she is ready without touching her, since that is a fight and I don't want to stress her out.

Attachments

· Registered
6 Posts
How dose her udder look? With our alpines they start filling up about a week or so before kidding and a day or so before it starts to look kinda pink and shiny. If you can get close to her and fill her tendons at her tail that will give you a lot better idea. If you look at her back end imagine a peace sign and on either side of the tail is a tendon that feel sorta like hard rubber bands when they loose their tendons they have about 12 hours or so till kidding.

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·