The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Care giver of 4 milkers, one doeling, and One beau
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The flies in my barn drive me crazy while i'm milking. They try to get into the milk and I always come in with fly bites. What should I do? Any ideas? I'm not good at making things so if you have a flytrap for me to make I'll need good directions. Anything that you have heard of or has worked for you is welcome.

·
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
we don't have electricity in our barn. :( O.K. Where can I get them?

·
4-H Secretary for Life ^.^
985 Posts
There is a trick where you can take a ziploc baggie and fill it with water and hang it in the doorway, and when the fly tries to enter, it won't because it tricks the fly's eyes. It supposedly works

·
Super Moderator
58,938 Posts
There is a trick where you can take a ziploc baggie and fill it with water and hang it in the doorway, and when the fly tries to enter, it won't because it tricks the fly's eyes. It supposedly works
I thought you had to put pennies in there too.

·
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Screens on windows, and is it possible to close all doors? I swat flies after milking each day. We also hang fly strips, and there are the stinky plastic traps at TSC.
OUr barn is a very open barn if you know what I mean. There are 4 openings 1 of them doesn't have a door on it another one always is open so animals can go in and out and the other two on sunny days remain open for light.

·
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
The stinky plastic fly bait traps at TSC work well in our barn. However, they smell like a dead animal...
eww. I really don't want our barn to smell like something dead. Any other options.

·
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
We don't have doors to put them. Animals could bump into them and we open and close the two others quite frequentely.

·
Registered
504 Posts