The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered some fly predators this morning. I have heard good things but I have chickens that free range so any advice on using them with chickens would be great. Would u recommend putting some in an empty stall in the barn. That its where i have most of my problems

·
Registered
412 Posts
I have been using fly predators for about 6 years and love them. Your best bet is to put them out at night when your chickens go to roost. You want to spread them around - a little handful here and a little handful there. What I do is start at my goat pen, kick a little dirt aside, put a small amount down (like the equivalent to 1-2 tablespoons) and then cover them back up with the dirt, then I do the same by the chicken coop - my chickens are not free range (too many predators...) so I just put them outside the fence, then a little in the horse barn (about 1 tablespoon in the corner of each stall), a tablespoon or 2 in the areas of the field where the horses like to poop and the rest (maybe 1/2 a cup or so?) goes to the manure pile. The directions say to do different areas each month but to ALWAYS do the manure pile.

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank u! The person that recommended them doesn't have a barn and didn't know how to answer my question. Here barns are optional for horses. I am pretty excited to see how much of a difference they make. I milk my goats and sometimes one fly can make a difference of a spilled bucket or not!

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
I wouldn't cover them up with dirt - could cause problems with them getting out from under it. When they arrive there will be directions on how to put them out.

·
Registered
412 Posts
The directions that came with mine say to lightly cover them with dirt - they burrow into dirt/manure to get to the fly eggs anyway. By covering them lightly you protect them from birds and ants that like to eat them.

·
Banned