foot rot

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by mersydo, Jul 26, 2010.

1. mersydo

mersydo New Member

Jul 15, 2010
    what is the best way to spot foot rot in boer goats? and how do you reccommend treating it?

2. HoosierShadow

HoosierShadow Senior Member

Apr 19, 2010
    Central Kentucky
    I am new to goats, but not new to hoof rot. I rescued a doe that had it severely.
    First, when you clean the foot, does it smell HORRIBLE? Does it have any black tissue or stuff on the foot? Anything noticably different compared to other feet? --- the smell should be the key factor though...no mistaking it.

If your goat has hoof rot, you have to cut away all the dead stuff and clean out all the bacteria. I used a spray bottle with bleach/water/dishsoap. I also know people that will use a little bit of straight bleach on the foot - it burns but it cleans it real good.

At your tractor supply or feed/farm store you can call or go see if they have something called Koppertox or Thrush XX - same product just different name - and Thrush XX is cheaper. It's a sealant and works wonders on hoof rot and hoof scald! Thanks to everyone on this site for recommending the stuff to me.
    Clean the foot out, spray or pour on some of the Koppertox or Thrush XX, and I hold the foot up for a couple of minutes to let it set in. Do this treatment once a day IMO until you notice improvement.

Do you live in a wet & humid climate? It's very important to keep the foot dry and allow as much air to get to it as possible.
    If the ground is real wet and you can't get the goats out of it, get some pallets <they are free>, and lay them out for your goats to walk on so they aren't in the mud. My goats LOVE pallets. In fact any time I get any extra they knock them over so they can climb around on them :) My husband also put rocks all around our mini barn, so they are walking on the rocks when it rains instead of the mud.