The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 7 month old Nubian wether who I suspect has hoof scald. I live in the northwest just outside of Portland Oregon so we have yucky rainy weather going on right now. I trimmed up his hooves and did not see anything wrong with it other than he was limping and did not want to put his foot down. Yesterday he was kneeling to eat, but is still eating and following the herd. Today I noticed it is beginning to swell around the top of his hoof so Tonight I soaked his foot, and cleaned and dried it well. Gave him antibiotic (Bio-Mycin 200), and Banamine for swelling/pain. I will be giving him proobios as well. I am new to goats, these are my first. So My questions are
1) What else should I be doing?
2) Anyone else in the area have issues with scald or hoof rot in the rainy winter months, what do you do to prevent it?
3) Any other thoughts on what it could be if not scald? (his symptoms started about 3 days ago, at first thought he may have jumped and landed wrong)

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
Could be foot scald or foot rot. Probably want to isolate him until you're sure which since foot rot is contagious. Did you notice a foul odor while trimming his feet? If so, sounds like foot rot. What did you soak his feet in? Does he have access to an area that is dry? Here is a link to an article on both.

http://www.aces.edu/pubs/docs/U/UNP-0087/UNP-0087.pdf

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·