Getting a buck/ buckling

Discussion in 'Bucks' started by Shannon Horner, Dec 31, 2018.

1. Shannon Horner

Shannon Horner Member

Dec 27, 2018
    NY
    Hi. I'm very new to goats, I've had a wether and pregnant doe only three months. I will be keeping any girls she has and purchasing another doeling in the spring to quickly have my whole herd of does. My original plan was to have only 3-4 does to provide my family all our dairy needs. As far as a buck I planned on finding buck services. However, after doing kind of early research most in my area dont provide services as they want to keep their herd clean and mentioned that i get my own buck to protect my herd from illnesses too. I went online to research owning a buck and finding opposing articles, So here goes my questions:

What is the likelihood of getting a mean buck? The farms that are trying to sell me bucklings this spring said their bucks are all like lapdogs.

Would I be better off getting a grown buck with an already known good personality (I've seen quite a number of bucks for sale) or raise a buckling hoping it is a good boy when hormones hit?

How much time does one need to spend with their bucks? Im researching online and im getting mixed answers. One said spend time with them so they are like puppy-dogs but another said you dont want bucks too comfortable with you as they start looking at you as another herd mate and lower their respect and they suggested too only go in pen with them when needing shots, boluses, etc. ?

How far should I make a buck pen and shed from house so we don't smell their stink? And how far from my girls?

Seeing as I only have one girl until spring my research is early on but if i need to raise a buckling I'd like to know early so I can purchase one this spring. Thanks for your advice!
    Shannon

Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  2. SandyNubians

SandyNubians Well-Known Member

Feb 18, 2017
    Idaho
    What is the likelihood of getting a mean buck?