The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My hunt for a doeling is just going downhill. Hardly anybody around here has alpines except ones that are related to him (I'm not going that route). What would be a good mixture that people would actually be willing to buy

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
What about a nubian?? Here it seems thats the #1 dairy breed everyone wants and seems to a common breed. Im sorry your hunt is not going so well. It sounds like your just starting out???? Maybe settle for any dairy doeling and just simply keep your eye out for what you really want, that way you can still get started.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm in Micigan. I am just starting out. I have a buckling I got from my mother in law and he is so far a fantastic goat and very pretty. Every doe I find that I really like I've been too slow on the draw and they are already sold. I might just end up waiting until next year to get one, but I don't want him to be "alone" until then. Boers are the big goat crowd around here

·
558 Posts
check out bestfarmbuys.com They seem to have ALOT of goats for sale in MI.
I even saw an ad posted yesterday for French Alpine doelings.

·
558 Posts
I had the same problem too last year finding a breeder nearby. I ended up contacting someone who was advertising goat hoof trimming to ask them about where there are farms in the area. That is how I ended up with the breeder I chose.
Also, if you call someone and theirs are sold, make sure you ask them if they know of anyone else that has any for sale. I know the lady I bought mine from knows a lot of other breeders and sends people their way when she is sold out....

·
1,524 Posts
Nubians, followed by Lamanchas, seem to be the popular ones around my state too. My favorites are Alpines and Oberhalsi. I can't find the quality I am looking for in Alpines close by and I am not settling for mediocre, so I am stuck with Nubians and Manchas.