Goat Baby poops ??

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by AuntyEmsFarm, Jun 5, 2009.

1. AuntyEmsFarm

AuntyEmsFarm New Member

Jun 5, 2009
    I am new to all of this. I have never joined a forum before, but i figured it would be a good idea.

I have a question and I am hoping you guys can help. :)

My Nubian just had two kids on Tuesday :) . A little doe :girl: named Mary Jane and a :boy: buck named Otis. So far each has passed the black-tar-like poop and are peeing frequently. Both are eating very well, playing and running around and sleeping.

Mary Jane started pooping the yellow-mustard looking poop on Wednesday. But I have noticed that she is struggling a little bit to pass it and there has been a few red streaks in it. I took her temp and its 103.4 after that, she began to poop. So maybe that stimulated things.
    Is there something i can do to help her with that?

Also, the little buck Otis began pooping the yellow stuff yesterday afternoon and has yet to since. Should i worry? I took his tem as well and it was 103.5

I found instructions on how to give them and enema if i need to. Hopefully you guys have something else that would work. :help:

Thanks and have a great day!
    -Em :wave:
  2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    First of all, WELCOME :wave: to the goat spot and I will say you came to the right place.

Congratulations on the new babies. It sounds like they are doing fine. The yellow poop is normal, that is just milk poop. Now if they struggle to poop and you know they are NOT pooping then they might need a little help. Sometimes a warm wash cloth to the butt will help, sometimes just a little Vaseline or lube on the tip of the thermometer will also help.

Now mom's will lick the baby butts and eat the poop, (yep pretty nasty), but they do so that might be why you are not seeing any.