Goat Colds?Need Some Advice....

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by Rogersfarm, Jan 24, 2010.

1. Rogersfarm

Rogersfarm Member

Jan 24, 2010
    Southeast Texas
    Hi, I am new to mini goats so forgive the newbie questions. We recently purchased twin pygmy girls and they seem to have a small cough and runny nose.They seem to be active and eating well. The place where we got them had a shelter but no heating lamp.Do they get colds and how do you treat them? :(

2. myfainters

myfainters New Member

Oct 29, 2009
    Lancaster, CA
    Hello!!! :- )
    Is the nasal discharge clear or green? Do they have fevers?

3. Rogersfarm

Rogersfarm Member

Jan 24, 2010
    Southeast Texas
    Clear, no fever that we can tell.

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Welcome Roger... most goats don't need heat lamps, as far as the runny noses if it's a clear discharge a little bit of Vet Rx would help. Please, check their temperature...a normal rectal temp range in any goat is 101-103, if higher than 103 then they will need an antibiotic.

With the cough, if they have no temp then it could be just from dusty hay or they may need to be wormed.

5. Rogersfarm

Rogersfarm Member

Jan 24, 2010
    Southeast Texas
    I know for sure that they have not been wormed so that may be the issue.Thanks

6. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    be sure that when you worm you use ivermectin or stronger. Safeguard will not take care of lung worms

coughing can be for any number of reasons - worms, cold, pneumonia, dusty hay, asthma

7. Rogersfarm

Rogersfarm Member

Jan 24, 2010
    Southeast Texas
    I thought ivermectin was just for swine and cattle? You can use it on Pygmies?

8. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California