Goat Eye Related Problem

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Jana, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Jana

Jana New Member

Feb 5, 2011
    I'm new to having goats. 1 1/2 - 2 weeks ago, "Sugar", one of my lamancha goats seemed to be swelling behind both of her eyes, like they were bulging out. The inside membrane was puffy and very pink. So I started loose minerals (should have started that sooner I know), isolated her and started spraying her eyes with Vetericyn. Her eyes looked red and weird, no discharge. They had been wormed with Ivomectin drench mid-Feb. and over Christmas. So after a couple days I decided to give all 4 of my does, that are to be bred here in a month, 3ml Biomycin subQ everyday for 5 days. I also put a couple drops of the Biomycin in Sugar's eyes each day. I did this just in case it was pinkeye. Since then, I've been giving them all probiotic. Her eye swelling almost went away, but the vertical membrane that is under the main eyelid still came out over her eye on the sides more than what is normal. She seems fine. Her eyes look like they are draining in the pic because of the Biomycin I dropped in. I cannot find anything like it on the internet. She didn't get the oozy cloudy eye that you see pics of with a pinkeye infection. Eating and pooping look fine and normal. She looks behind her alot, like she's trying to look at the sky or stretch her neck. She's always done this. All the goats are back together now and I've cleaned out the 2 stalls they've been in just in case. They've been back together for about 5 days now and her eyes are swelling again and the membranes are back to being "puffy". Does anyone have any ideas on this?

I would appreciate any advice!!!
    Thanks - JG

Attached Files:

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Welcome.... :thumb: