The Goat Spot Forum banner

Goat Feed

1K views 13 replies 4 participants last post by  NigerianNewbie 
#1 ·
Hello! I’m new to goats and I feel like this is a dumb question, but I’ve asked around to a few folks in my town and can’t seem to get a straight answer. Can goats eat just weeds for their diet? I have a flourishing 2 acres of mostly Palmer Amaranth, Bermuda grass, purslane, and a few other weeds but do i need to give them anything else to supplement their diet besides free feed minerals while these weeds last? Thank you!

#4 ·
I am not too familiar with those weeds, but if they are holding their weight and growing sounds good to me - weeds and bramble are their natural food. Keep in mind they are young and should be growing. They can become picky though if you switch them to hay off season as they are a bit spoiled with this lovely offering, but they will adjust. Just my opinion

#5 ·
Okay great that makes sense thank you! My boy weighs 30lbs and has weighed 30lbs for about two or three weeks, if I wanted to get some weight on him does anyone have a suggestion to give them? I’ll have to weigh the girls later. Or is 30lbs normal for a 4 1/2 month old?

#9 ·
Lol those are plump little buggers!
Nigis really range in size, I have full grown that are 35 lbs, have seen them as much as 70 lbs.
If you could post some pics that would really help us tell their condition.
Oh yay! That makes me feel better haha! These are of my boy, he looks skinny to me but if that's an okay weight then I'm okay with that

Attachments

#10 ·