The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
If you are interested in mixing your own here's a great recipe that I got off this site.....I was feeding a sweet feed mixed with corn but my goats weren't really liking it......so I changed it to this...

6 parts rolled oats
2 parts calf manna
2 parts BOSS
1 part beet pulp
You mix all that up and then mix one part of the "mix" to 3 parts of alfalfa pellets.....my goats LOVE this and they are doing really well on it.

image-976574438.jpg

This is what it looks like ready to feed :)

Attachments

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
If you are interested in mixing your own feed I have been feeding my goats this recipe for the last 3 months and they are doing really well on it.....I got this recipe from this site

6 parts rolled oats
2 parts calf manna
2 parts BOSS
1 part beet pulp

You mix all that together and then you add 1 part of the "mix" to 3 parts alfalfa pellets.

image-1744971927.jpg

This is what it looks like all mixed up and ready to feed.......I was feeding a sweet feed mixed with corn before and my goats were leaving it. They just didn't really like it......now they can't wait to eat and they are in great shape!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
Didn't mean to post it twice!!! I don't have great service at my house so it can be hit or miss!

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
Does eney one have eney sugestions on goat food?
Well, I would start with either a good quality hay or a adequately sized pasture of suitable grass, browse, weeds, or some combination of the above. Depending on whether they are mature, pregnant, nursing, kids, weaning kids, yearlings, or milking goats I would add a suitable grain that supported their production stage. A little more information would be helpful in determining what their plane of nutrition should be made up of. :)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·