Goat Gossip 85

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by sealawyer, Feb 13, 2010.

1. sealawyer

sealawyer New Member

May 31, 2009
    Dew, Texas
    2/10/2010

Goat Gossip 85

Did you know?

Gwen and I have been doing the goat thing for over ten years now. When we first started out we were as green as grass in regards to how to raise and market our goats. We just fed them cuz they were hungry and wormed them once a month cuz that was the thing to do! We gathered up the kids and culls at the worst possible time of the year to take them to Hamilton Sale Barn cuz that’s all we knew to do and earned pennies for the goats while spending dollars for feed. We didn’t know much of anything.
    Through the past years we have met Mr. James Tugwell, who introduced Gwen and me to the FCGBA when it was being formed, and experienced a lot of changes with our fellow members. Our association and the meat goat industry have changed with the times and through thick and thin have endured. Breeders and the associations they have formed have learned to adapt to the changing times. Our association has gone through an adaptation with the type of sale we are having this month. We have started having pen sales because that is the most economical way to hold a sale and still remain viable. We don’t have to pay an auctioneer, print and publish an online and print catalog, and pay for all of the other related costs of having an auction sale. We pay for advertising and that’s it.