The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi there,
I have a few questions as im new to goats, but not farming in general.
I need to get milking supplies, what do you use for washing & post dipping the teats? Are there any "natural" solutions you use?? Also I was going to get the stainless steel goat milking pail with the half moon cover. There is a "starter kit" on the website with that pail, a strainer & filters. That should be all I need in the way of milk collection correct? I have 1/2 gln jars for putting it in when done. I'm drinking it raw.

Also, what is in your goat grain mix? I want to feed as little grain as possible and do it as organically as possible also. I don't want to feed corn but want to feed perhaps oats & barley with a little molasses?? My local feed mill doesn't have anything "premixed" so I would have to have a special mix made or buy it at a store or online or something. what is in yours and do you like it??? I know I need free-choice mineral also- high in copper.
Thanks so much.........I feel like a fish out of water and I need to get some of this stuff figured out cuz my Doe is coming in 10 days! Yikes!

·
I'm watching you
22,272 Posts
For washing I use alcohol free herbal baby wipes. For teat dipping I use Fight-Bac spray from Jeffers.
I milk into a stainless steel bowl and use my canning funnel with a 6 inch in-line filter in it. Your set up should be plenty.

My grain mix is rolled grains, beet pulp, and feed peas. I have been very happy with it. In fact, I got lazy and went to a bagged feed for a while this last year. I just started mixing my own again a couple months ago and I already see a huge difference in my girls.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·