Goat Handling

Discussion in 'Show Circuit' started by PiccoloGoat, Dec 2, 2008.

1. PiccoloGoat

PiccoloGoat goat girl x0x0

Sep 10, 2008
    Australia
    I am thinking of going as a Junior Handler to the Sydney Royal Easter show (6th biggest show in the world) with keren.
    I've never handled animals as shows before and I am wondering what is involved and if you have any tips and techiniques to impress the judges.
    I am studying the anatomy of a goat *Instead of doing my assignment :roll: *
    Because i heard sometimes the judge will ask questions about the goat itself or anatomy etc

This is the pic I am going off.. Is it good enough?
    [​IMG]
    Thanks.

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    Hi,
    thats a fine photo, but i got some advice from the june goat rancher that was helpful in boers.
    These three does from Able acres ( well known u.s breeders) .
    first two are good setting up, the front of the leg should line up with the shoulder blades. squarely. [attachment=1:2rpaeug7]180-Tammie.jpg[/attachment:2rpaeug7] , [attachment=2:2rpaeug7]180-RaggedyAnn.jpg[/attachment:2rpaeug7]

when streched out too far (3rd pic), it gives the goat an odd appearance as seen in the last photo. (hard to find bad pics on their site!)[attachment=0:2rpaeug7]ClassicAttraction-650_sm.jpg[/attachment:2rpaeug7]

3. PiccoloGoat

Sep 10, 2008
    Australia
    Thanks Katrina/ THose are really helpful. None of the other descriptions make sense on the internet! :D
    Does that go just for Boer Goats? Or others as well.
    I might handle Angoras it depends on what I can enter and what keren has.

4. SDK

SDK New Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Yucaipa ca
    it goes for every goat.. another thing is keep the lead up on the neck ( where jaw meets neck)
    it gives you more control

and practice helps.. but it may be difficult for your situation.. unless puff agrees for you to use her as a "goat double"

5. PiccoloGoat

Sep 10, 2008