Goat has lump on face

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Marshall11, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Marshall11

Marshall11 New Member

Jun 24, 2019
    United Kingdom
    hey everyone. I’ve had this goat for about a month, and a week or two ago he developed this on his face. He is only five months old.
    Bought him from very reputable farm, who have said they’ve done all the tests.
    Could it be cl? I read it is rare in goat so young, but I’m very concerned, for the goats I have him with as well.
    The vet has come to see him and believes it could be a cyst. Then she offered to put him under anaesthetic in order to surgically remove it. I said I would have to think about it because of the risks of going under... he is very young.

What do you think it could be? Cl, salivary glands, or could it be some sort of thistle or piece of fence that is causing this?

I’m very new to goats and wouldn’t really be able to do anything myself. He doesn’t let me put my hand in his mouth... and he has very sharp teeth.

I texted the vet about the possibility, and she responded asking what cl was.... ok.

Attached Files:

2. Marshall11

Marshall11 New Member

Jun 24, 2019
    United Kingdom
    Forgot to mention. It is hard, not soft.

3. Trollmor

Trollmor Well-Known Member

Aug 19, 2011
    Goatless in Sweden
    Welcome to the forum! :) You did manage to share photos that show what you want to talk about. :)

If CL is the same as corynebacterium pseudotuberculosis, I think it must be rather non-typical. I have battled against that bacteria for a long time, and so far not seen it in this place. It looks more, as you suggest, like a thistle thorn or something similar.

Good thing you have discovered the built-in wire cutters they have, otherwise I would warn you. ;) Still, it would be interesting to learn how it is inside the mouth. If an old wound, there you would have the answer!