The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am new to raising Nigerian Dwarf Goats. I just bought two does that needed a round of antibiotics (biomycin). I intend to show these goats so want to avoid creating any lumps when doing these injections. I had been instructed to do the shots in the backside of the thigh and IM because SQ can leave lumps. I have been doing that and today one of my does is limping (today will be day 4). Is there a better place to give injections? Has anyone seen this before and the limping resolved? I am worried that I ruined my beautiful doe.

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
I have but with cattle. One I have no clue what went wrong but would drag his leg for a full day. The only time I have ever had lumps was with sq shots never Im. That's just me but maybe others can share on what type of shots they got lumps with. Also I'm 99% sure all my lumps have been from the CDT shots.
I give shots kinda in the arm pit area. It just doesn't seem to hurt as much there and is awesome for giving kids shots so you can hold their head between your legs.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply. I have to give another shot this evening and I have been dreading it all day. I certainly don't want to hurt my goaties. I have been watching videos on it. Any tips for the armpit area?

Thanks so much!

·
Super Moderator
58,864 Posts
I have not had lumps from SQ shots with Biomycin. I give SQ shots in the neck where it meets into the body. There is a lot of skin you can pull up there.

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts
I always give IM shots in the neck. There is a tendon that runs down the center of the leg on the side, if you hit this it can cause them to limp for a while, it can be permanent but most of the time it is just temporary.

·
Dave (TDG Farms) S.E. Washington State
4,956 Posts