goat milk soap recipes? anybody have a favorite

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by luvbug*diapers, May 24, 2010.

1. luvbug*diapers

luvbug*diapers New Member

Feb 22, 2010
    sunny california
    Im just starting out with making cold process soap with my goat milk.

Ive tried 3 with 1 possable falure.we'll see if it will ever get hard!!!!! :GAAH:

so i was wondering if anybody has one that is their favorite that would be hard for me to screw up.

link to one would be great or if you feel like you want to write it out
    either way Id be thrilled to get some. :leap: :clap: :stars: :wahoo:

thank you
    renee

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    I have a super simple recipe on my website...courtesy of K-Ro

Works every time for me.

3. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI
    Here's what I always do for my milk soap:

8 1/2 oz. olive oil
    10 oz. coconut oil
    24 oz. vegetable shortening
    6 oz. lye
    24 oz. chilled goat milk
    2 to 2 1/2 tablespoons of fragrance or essential oil

Melt the oils together and cool to 110*F
    Add milk to the lye slowly and stir well--cool to about 100*F

When the oils are 110* and the milk/lye is 100* slowly pour the milk/lye into the oils and stir...and stir some more...and keep stiring. I actually alternate between hand stiring and using a blender for 20-30 min. It takes this recipe a while to get a good trace because it has a lot of liquid in it. At light trace I stir in the fragrance or essential oil and stir for a few more minutes then pour into molds. and cover with saran wrap. I do not insulate the molds with this recipe. After about 12-18 hours I put the mold in the freezer for about 1 hr because it makes it easier to get out of the mold and then I take it out of the mold to dry.

4. luvbug*diapers

Feb 22, 2010
    sunny california
    oh thank you i love how much milk is in here.
    i must gather supplies tomorrow.