The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone! I am new with goats. About 3 month ago we bought 2.5 years old goat. From beginning she was pretty skinny, but I been told that she is giving too much milk that's why she is skinny. She gives about 3 quarts a day. About 3 weeks ago I noticed she is not walking properly and she falls on her knees. I gave her lots of "Tums" tablets and "EM PACT" (Metabolic intermediate dietary supplement) for humans. She felt better was really active and happy. But last night she spitted out some vomit and having loose stool. Not eating. Please help ASAP. Thank you very much!!!

·
14,615 Posts
Has she been wormed lately, if so with what & the amount?
Is her temp normal?
A shot of B complex would help with appetite.

·
Super Moderator
58,901 Posts
What exactly are you feeding her? What is her temp? When was the last time you had a fecal done and/or wormed her?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am having her for 3 month and never wormed her yet I don't know how. I didn't know how to check her temp too. I am feeding her with fresh grass, oats, alfalfa feed, cracked corn and also she has a salt and minerals brick, and fresh water available all the time.

·
Super Moderator
83,113 Posts
Worming depends on what worms she may have.

With stress cocci and worms can raise it's ugly head. Getting a fecal done will ensure what is wrong if anything there.
Getting skinny can be cause by worms and/or cocci.

Are you feeding a lot of each you described? If so, it can be from diet change as well.
Too much to fast can upset her rumen.

Large amounts of grain, can Do it as well, plus make their rumen sick.

As for temp 101.5 to 103.5 is normal. It is taken from the rectum, lube up the thermometer and slowly and gently insert. Do not force. The tip area is good enough, you do not have to insert all the way. Digital thermometers are easiest and fastest.