Goat Ramming

Discussion in 'Pack Goat Training' started by EvergreenFarm, Oct 31, 2018.

1. EvergreenFarm

EvergreenFarm Member

Mar 23, 2016
    Hello I need some help/advice. I currently have 4 goats, I am still learning about them, but have a serious question that needs immediate attention. Two of my goats I had since they were a week old. I was told that they were both mini's, well one is and one is not and unfortunately only one of them has horns, the others were de-budded before I got them.

My issue is, is that the largest one keeps ramming the little ones, really hard, I mean bad and has gotten to the point where he will ram me if I am in there which is new. I refuse to get rid of him, because if I do I know someone will kill him but I am at my wits end with him, is there any help? Any suggestions greatly appreciated. Thank you

Oh they are all males, all neutered and all but one have no horns

2. elvis&oliver

elvis&oliver Well-Known Member

Jun 27, 2018
    Pa
    I bet this is very stressful! I’m not qualified to give you good enough advice but someone will be right along to help. I wish you good luck with the stinker and applaud you for not just sending him off.

3. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Separate him. Have a spray bottle and spray him when he comes at you.

catharina and groovyoldlady like this.
  4. mariarose

mariarose Well-Known Member

You have to change your mindset from protecting him, to protecting the little ones. Nothing you try will work until you make that mindset change.

You will need to separate him and do something unpleasant every time he disrespects you. A spray bottle of water to the face often works. If it doesn't, you can upgrade to vinegar.

He'll need to be separate as long as he is terrorizing the littler ones. Periodically test it by putting him back in, but WATCH and if he starts to bully, yank him back out.

Ask your vet to check and be certain there isn't a retained testicle.