The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am fairly new to goat farming and I've got a 6 yr old oberhasli that has been up and down in health. Recently the fur around her mouth is a little sparse and her poops are a bit liquid. She gets better and then seems to get worse again about every two weeks or so. Her FAMACHA is normal and her gums are pink. She's eating fine and activity level seems normal. In the past when I cut grain she seems to do a bit better but she's also smaller than I wish she would be. Thoughts?

Edit for anyone who sees this post, she has Johnes but also tested positive for Giardia. In regards to the negative tested goats our vet recommended some alfalfa but said to not touch the minerals as they get minerals on their grain from the mill. So if you've got a slightly skinny goat with problems test for Johnes. If they're negative we were recommended alfalfa because we have all girls.

·
Super Moderator
32,154 Posts
Wekcime to the forum. What color poops? Has she had a recent fecal done? Definitely post a picture. List food minerals and such as suggested above.
Does she chew her cud well?

Reactions: Moers kiko boars

·
Administrator
85,534 Posts
A fecal for cocci and worms would be a good start, to see where she is at.

Check for lice/mites.

Make sure she has loose salt and minerals free choice.

A pic may help more. ;)

·
8,472 Posts
A good Famacha score is a good thing- but, it is only a tool. It can tell you that your goat has barber pole worms. They are the bloodsuckers.
Other parasites cause other problems- loose stool, lack of energy, thinness, constant eating and never gaining weight, etc. A lot of times, even
a fecal doesn't tell the real story- the worms only shed eggs at certain times- so a clean fecal test doesn't necessarily mean your parasites are under
control- they may be numerous and haven't layed eggs, today.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·