The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, Im new here but yesterday I was given 2 adult female goats and 3 male babies (less than 1 week old), the owner didnt have time for them, fortunately I do.

However one of the mother goats has a very big udder, the nipples are very hard and one of them is cracked and bleeding. This goat only has one baby, Ive been taking the milk 3x a day and feeding it to the baby with a bottle. I talked to a vet here and they recommended vasolene for the chapped and bleeding side of the udder/tit.

If anyone has any opinions or ideas or questions as to what I can do to help this mother goat and her baby Id be happy to hear. Im new to goats but was given 5 yesterday (2 mothers with 3 babies less than 4 days old)

My main concern is the condition of the udder, which is dry and chapped, I bought vasolene and applied it tonight after milking for the baby. Do I need to do anything more or continue doing what Im doing?

-RUP

·
Premium Member
15,546 Posts
Vasaline will work, bagbalm will work well too.

So the vet took a look at the udder or you just asked him/her about it? Is there milk coming out of both sides of the udder? Being hard, it sounds like she might have mastitis, but if there is milk coming out easily, then maybe not.

But yeah, I woul apply bag balm a couple times a day. ;) Glad they are in a loving home.

·
Premium Member
23,224 Posts
I agree with Kylee and would suggest getting a can of "Bag Balm"....it's a square green can. It contains lanolin for healing and petroleum for conditioning. Wash her udder with a warm wet cloth and a very mild soap, milk her then apply the bag balm after each milking.

·
Registered
2,072 Posts