Goat with hurt hoof/limp

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Gingir, Jun 30, 2010.

1. Gingir

Gingir New Member

Jun 29, 2010
    Hi, I'm still new to raising goats. We tore down an older barn and rebuilt a new one. I thought I'd gotten all the nails picked up but must have missed one. My billy goat ended up with a roofing nail in the back part of his front hoof. I pulled it out and doused it with iodine.

It's been about 2 weeks and he's still limping some. The hoof looks good. No swelling or heat. There is of course still the hole where the nail penetrated. He's up to date on his tetanus shot and has no other ailments. Hoof is trimmed, no separation or anything that I could blame the limp on.

Do you think the nail hole just needs to heal over before he stops limping? He's putting weight on it, but he's just babying it. That's not stopping him from playing "king of the mountain" or anything. Is there something else I should be doing for it?

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    I had a goat do the same thing. I would clean it twice a day, and it took a few weeks for the hole to go away in my goat also. It is a very hard area and it will just take time.

3. mrs. lam

mrs. lam New Member

Apr 20, 2010
    Keep it dry and clean. If you notice him to be acting "off" check his temp. It sounds good so far. Good luck.

Gina

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I agree with the others..... :thumb: :hi5:

5. hphorses

hphorses New Member

Feb 16, 2010
    Waldron, SK. Canada
    Could very well be an abscess coming from the puncture wound.. You may want to soak his hoof in a warm epsom salts bath.

Tara

6. Perfect7

Perfect7 New Member

Apr 19, 2010
    South Georgia
    I'd only add to make sure he's up on his tetanus. :wink:

7. HoosierShadow

HoosierShadow Senior Member

Apr 19, 2010
    Central Kentucky