Goat With Only One Teat?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by heldmanbc, Aug 15, 2018.

1. heldmanbc

heldmanbc New Member

Jul 7, 2018
    Hello all! I have the opportunity to purchase a wonderful, well put together 3-year-old Lamancha doe for CHEAP. Of course there is always a catch.

The current owner is selling her cheap because she only has one teat. She explained to me that when she purchased her, she had bad mastitis that ruptured. The veterinarian came and removed the teat. Current owner said she milked the rest of the year off one side with no issues. She did not breed her last year and is now getting out of Goats entirely.

I am new to the dairy goat world but had meat Goats for years. What would you do? Purchase her and take a chance or pass altogether?

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

If she has more than one kid, you will have to supplement the kids or pull a kid and totally bottle feed. You would need to weigh the kids on a regular basis. Do you have time for that?

3. Lamancha Lady

Lamancha Lady Lamancha Breeder

Dec 12, 2011
    PA
    I would pass, unless she is going to be just a pet.

Goat_Scout likes this.
  4. #nubiantrouble

#nubiantrouble New Member

Jul 26, 2018
    How many kids has she had in the past. I would keep her and get her to have kids. Then keep her as a pet and go on with her future kids.

5. Jessica84

Jessica84 Well-Known Member

Oct 27, 2011
    California