Goats bloated?

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Adalynn, Oct 31, 2020.

1. Adalynn

Adalynn New Member

Oct 31, 2020
    Connecticut
    I'm new to ND goats and inherited 2 quite by accident. They're adorable and about 12 weeks old. They were very skinny when we got them about 2 weeks ago. We took them to the vet who just gave them a quick look over and suggested we come back since they were terrified of even us. They clearly had no human contact prior.
    We took them home and fed them alfalfa hay and Dumor grain. They look like they ate footballs. They move around alright and their poops look normal.
    They've substantually warmed up to us, so I called the vet regarding the obvious weight gain. The vet suggested we switch to timothy hay and lay off the grain altogether. I'm wondering if there's anything else I should be doing. The vet just seems so passive.

Last edited: Oct 31, 2020
  2. YouGoatMe

YouGoatMe Well-Known Member

May 31, 2020
    Texas
    Is your vet very experienced with goats? I haven't had much luck with any that are very good with goats. The first one basically said "good luck, sometimes goats just decide to die". I would see if you can have fecals run on them so that you can treat them for worms if needed.

When I first got my little ND goats I would go out in the barn for an hour or two at a time and just sit there talking to them. It took a while, but eventually they got used to my voice and presence and now they jump on me at feeding time and one even willingly comes up for head scratches!

I will leave feeding advice to the experts here. I have gotten more help and advice on this forum than from any of the vets I tried btw! This is a fantastic resource and everyone here is so nice and helpful!

GoofyGoat and MadHouse like this.

3. GoofyGoat

GoofyGoat Well-Known Member

Sep 21, 2018
    TEXAS
    Welcome to TGS!