goats do not have appetite

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by goatskeeper, Aug 21, 2010.

1. goatskeeper

goatskeeper New Member

May 14, 2010
    Algeria
    hello :)

last month i had bought a new kid doe (about 6 months old) she have not appetite at all.
    and from last week until now the other two does (the lactating doe and the kid doe 5months old) have not appetite.

is there some thing wrong with my goats?

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    get their temps...that will better tell us ....what may be wrong....

Also check their gum color....... is it pale or nice and pink?

How is their stool?

Smell the feed and make sure there is no mold in it ......

3. goatskeeper

goatskeeper New Member

May 14, 2010
    Algeria
    i will do that.

i am new in this, i need some experience to judge this,if you can provide pics it would be very good.

it seems good for the two kids, and about the lactating doe:the dark strings in feces i didnt see it today.

the food is good, i prepare it by myself.

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    So they haven't eaten at all in a month?

What are you feeding them?

5. goatskeeper

goatskeeper New Member

May 14, 2010
    Algeria
    they eat but not much, for example the lactating doe was eating the grain mix (barley+wheat bran) with excessive appetite where she does not leave any one atom and she was eating fast.but now she eat slowly and do not finish the meal.

the program of feeding is as follows:
    - grain mix (barley:1 cup+wheat bran:2 cups) two times a day (when milking).
    - free choice hay (for now i have not good quality, must be changed soon).
    - free choice dried (dehydrated) bread.

6. goatskeeper

goatskeeper New Member

May 14, 2010
    Algeria