The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to goats and have learned so much through this site. I hope you all can help me again. My goats are as healthy as they can be, maintaining weight, wormed, slick and fat. However, anytime I pet them for extended periods of time or hold the babies, I get little big bites all over me. It is similar to the time my husband killed a turkey and had me to pluck it and I got EATEN ALIVE by mites. Do goats get mites? :ponder: I know they can have lice, but their lice is not supposed to live on humans. I don't want whatever they have getting all over the cats and dogs too. How can I get rid of whatever it is? I never see anything on me, just have little itchy bites the next day.:sigh:

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They do not have any spots that are missing hair, but they are pretty itchy. They turn around all the time and bite at their legs and back. I don't feed hay yet since they have so much brush to clear. I am thinking mites. What do you do for those?

·
Registered
162 Posts
For external parasites, I dust my animals with Diatomaceous earth.

This seems to take care of any critters that may live in their fur, Fleas, mites, lice etc. I buy the food grade variety from my local feed store. Make sure you don't inhale the powder.

I have heard two explanations of how diatomaceous earth works.

"One is that on a microscopic level, the diatomaceous earth particles are very sharp looking. These particles stick to an insect and get stuck between its exoskeleton joints. As the insect moves, it gets physically cut up.
The other explanation is that diatomaceous earth sticks to the insect and somehow causes them to dry out. I think this approach involves scratching the insects waxy layer which then allows precious moisture within the insect to get out. So their teeny tiny bug-innards turn into teeny tiny bug-innards-jerky."