Going to have my first kid

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by susan, Feb 22, 2009.

1. susan

susan New Member

Feb 22, 2009
    HELP!!! I am a real novice at this. I purchased a doe and buck pygmy goat in October. The Doe was already bred when I brought them home. I was told that she was due between Feb 26 and March 3rd. I don't know if I should put her in a stall (I tried and she does not want to go in) or let her stay out with my llama and two bucklings. If I leave her out will she be ok? She is very timid and I don't think that she will want me in the stall with her. This will be her third kidding. Can someone please advise me? I can send pictures tomorrow if that is what you need. Oh yeah her ligaments are getting thin.

Susan

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    she is very close....I would not leave her in with the bucks...this late in pregnancy...
    I know she may not want to go in but...she needs to be away from the bucks right now...
    Try to get her use to you...try to figure out what she likes the best in treats so she can start to trust you....spend some time with her and let her get use to your voice....to bad you didn't have another doe or a wether to put her in with....

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    congrats on your upcoming kidding.

are the boys wethered or still intact?

4. susan

susan New Member

Feb 22, 2009
    They are in tact. One is 9 months and the other is 6 months. I finally got her in a stall but she is not happy about it!!

5. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    i'm not big on stalling till they are showing signs of kidding. But that is just my personal preference

6. redneck_acres

redneck_acres New Member

Oct 17, 2007
    Idaho