The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Blaze,reo and bandit are in training thay are coming along great :D we are leading standing and following and not bad about hoof triming thay are polled alpine brothers thay are a year and two months old 30 to 31 in tall and about 125 to 130 lbs I was wondering if I should put a empty pack on them during short walks so thay get the feel for the pack and the noise i know thay shouldn't pack weight until thay are 3or4 but i am new to goatpacking a little info would be awsome thanks

·
Registered
98 Posts
I don't worry about putting saddles on yearlings. I just take them out and have a good time, making sure that I don't over-hike them and wear them out.

Carolyn always told me if they associate having fun on hikes when they are youngsters, they won't dread it when they are older and are loaded up.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the tips
We went for a good walk today everybody had a great time playing king of the stump or what ever was tallest and tasting every last bit of mother natures bounty
We have went on some good hikes and no pouting yet so I think I got some good boys!

·
Registered
286 Posts
Just going for hikes is the best training now. Teaching them to lead, hop into the truck (or whatever you use), and stay close when you hike with them are good lessons to work on. Also, they may have a tendency to follow other people. To stop that just leash one of them and the others will probably stay close to you. Also if you teach them to come to you when you show them a bribe (orange peel, peanuts, etc) it will make handling them later much easier. I taught mine to follow me when I whistle. That's been very useful. Have fun!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
We went on a good hike today about two miles give or take