grass feeding

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by billmac, Feb 16, 2009.

1. billmac

billmac Member

Sep 8, 2008
    Does anyone here run a dairy without grain feeding? Can a milking doe be kept healthy (and happy) without grain? Advantages? Disadvantages? Browse in the summer, hay in the winter?

2. Cinder

Cinder New Member

Mar 2, 2008
    I have limited experience with this but wanted to put my 5 cents in (used to be 2 cents but you know the economy :) ).

Well, if you consider that our ancestors milked their goats and didn't have the grains/feed we have now - it worked for them, so it must be doable. Having said that, I believe that our milk goats are healthier and give much more milk because of the grain/feed that they get in addition to the high quality hay.

I do know that the flavor of the milk can change every day if your doe is on pasture while you are milking her. Any weeds they get into can affect the taste. That's why most people keep their milk does contained and give them the same feed every day to maintain a constant sweet milk flavor.

Someone with lots of experience will chime in here to give better/other reasons for or against.

3. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI
    It may depend on the doe, but I would say, in general--NO.

With the production levels that a lot of domesticated goats have been bred for, they couldn't possibly eat enough hay/browse to keep in condition. Some does get thin even when they are fed grain--they put everything they have right into the milk pail.
  4. Sweet Gum Minis

Sweet Gum Minis New Member

Oct 6, 2007
    Easley, SC
    Not milkers I would say no. You can cut grain to open pasture fed goats but they need the added nutrition to produce milk and kids.
  5. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas