Greetings from Idaho

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by goatmama, Mar 28, 2010.

1. goatmama

goatmama New Member

Mar 23, 2010
    I am fairly new at goat tending. I've always had horses, cows, pigs and chickens, but this is a first with goats. I've had my goats for two years now, but this is my first kidding season. I have three does that I had bred, however, I think only one settled. We are getting close to kidding dates and two of them are showing no signs. Lily has never been bred before, she is due April 2nd and she just is not bagging up. I can't feel any movement in her belly. Domino is the same way and her due date is April 9th. Now Dixie, she is another story. There is no question that she took. This is her second kidding. Her first kidding she had quads and she looks like that could be the case this time. She's huge. Her vulva is open and has been for about two weeks. She has been loosing her plug, but not a lot. I can see that her belly is beginning to drop and her ligaments are getting loose. I'm very excited, but nervous. I've been reading stories from several of you and it's been very helpful to me. Thanks so much for this site.

2. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    Hi and Welcome to TGS! :wave:

Good luck with your kidding! You will need to post some picture for us. ;)

3. redneck_acres

redneck_acres New Member

Oct 17, 2007
    Idaho
    Hey fellow idahodean;-), welcome and best of luck with your herd.

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
  5. goatmama

goatmama New Member

Mar 23, 2010