The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey! I am a new goat owner in north jersey! after much research i bought two nigerian dwarf doelings, they were born in may of 2013, and are registered with AGS ( i plan on registering them with ADGA) I have fallen completely in love with them, they make me smile every day and i couldnt be happier with the girls i picked out! I plan on breeding at least one of them and then milker her. But i am a complete newbie so i dont know when to breed, where to find a buck, when the best time of year is, or if i will be taking on more than i can handle! I have read many books on goat care but i am still new to breeds, breeding, showing ect. So im hoping to get some more knowledge on this forum so that i dont make any mistakes! Thanks!

·
~Crazy Goat Lady~
28,461 Posts
Hi and welcome from NH :D :wave: was just in NJ picking up a buck this weekend hehe! Nigerians are awesome! Have a small herd of them myself :)

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks guys! J.O.Y Farm, where did you get your buck from? im not sure if im ready to breed my girls, they are only 7 months. Should i think about breeding them in the next month or so or should i wait until next fall?

·
Registered
352 Posts
I'm a newbie myself. But I'll try to help....You won't have to wait until next fall since they are already 7 months. Nigerians are year round breeders. So you just need to make sure they are mature enough in size. I think around a year depending on the doe. I'm sure someone with more knowledge will give you some better advice soon. Maybe you could post some photos of your girls. That may help too.

·
~Crazy Goat Lady~
28,461 Posts
thanks guys! J.O.Y Farm, where did you get your buck from? im not sure if im ready to breed my girls, they are only 7 months. Should i think about breeding them in the next month or so or should i wait until next fall?