The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I was outside by my two goats and I noticed Lylah was chewing with nothing in her mouth. Her mouth wasn't closed, it was opened so I didn't think she was grinding her teeth.. I'm pretty new to goats so I just want to make sure nothing is wrong with her. Thanks!

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is she eating and acting OK?

How are her stools?

Is she losing weight?

How is her gums and lower inner eyelid coloring?
Her stools are normal, her weight seems the same, and her gums and lower inner eyelid look a light pinkish color.

·
7 does - 2 bucks - 1 wether
11,082 Posts
How old? My kids used to scare the crap out of me by teeth grinding, but I think they were just ... I don't know quite but they all were okay. :laugh:

·
Registered
30,594 Posts
Take her temp...should be between 101.5 and 103.5
here is a link with an eye chart to check for anemia...
http://goat-link.com/content/view/110/107/#.UhAWDWSDQxc

if she lands in a 3-5 on the chart..I would have a fecal done to se if she is dealing with worms..which can cause tummy discomfort and the grinding of her teeth

Other wise If she is eating, drinking pooping berries, peeing ok..bright eye and alert...and NO fever snotty nose or runny eyes..no coughing...I would keep watch..might be she is trying to chew a cud..or had something stuck in her teeth?

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
How old? My kids used to scare the crap out of me by teeth grinding, but I think they were just ... I don't know quite but they all were okay. :laugh:
She's a little over a year old. She was born in July of 2012. I hope that happens for me too..!

·
Registered
30,594 Posts
Hows she doing?

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Take her temp...should be between 101.5 and 103.5
here is a link with an eye chart to check for anemia...
http://goat-link.com/content/view/110/107/#.UhAWDWSDQxc