Guess what Guess what?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by Lawanda, Jun 11, 2010.

1. Lawanda

Lawanda New Member

Jun 11, 2009
    West Virginia
    I was finally able to separate my mama and her kids two nights in a row!

So I milked her yesterday and this morning, and I got a half a cup each time. I know that isn't a lot, but considering this is my first time ever milking anything (I am not counting my own self! bahahaha) And the fact I have no stanchion and also that I am clumsy and have spilled about half of the milk both mornings... I think Mama and I are doing good! :)

and I had the milk on my cereal this morning and it was SO YUMMY and very sweet!!! YAY!!!

I feel SO ACCOMPLISHED. LOL

You can laugh at me, I don't mind, but I am hoping to continue and get to enjoy goat's milk more constantly from now on :D

2. mrs. lam

mrs. lam New Member

Apr 20, 2010
    Sounds great. I can't wait till I get to milk something. LOL! I'm already working on my 3 month old nubian cross. She doesn't mind me patting her belly or even touching her "udder". She just keeps chewing her hay like she could care less. :p Ben get's jealous and tries to get my attention. He's such a brat. I can't play with anyone else or he'll grab my hand and chew till I pet him. :laugh:

Gina

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Congrats Lawanda :clap:

Practice makes perfect...for you and your girl!

4. lissablack

lissablack New Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Good for you! A milking stand makes a huge difference when you can get one of them. It takes practice anyway, though. The milk is so wonderful!

Jan

5. Realfoodmama

Realfoodmama New Member

Apr 12, 2010
    Santa Fe, NM
    :leap: :stars: :wahoo: :dance:

6. greatcashmeres

greatcashmeres New Member

Jul 13, 2008
    Maine
  7. Lawanda

Lawanda New Member

Jun 11, 2009
    West Virginia