The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am a total newbie trying to get started on milking. The problem is that in the mornings my hands are usually so numb I can't feel to milk by hand so I'm thinking of getting one of those hand pump milkers just for the times I'm numb. My question is whether or not this has to be pumped continuously or once you pump it keeps the suction going for a little bit of time. I'm just wondering if I can pump it enough with numb hands. What experience have others had trying to use a hand pump with carpal tunnel? BTW, I'm so proud of my nubian doe, she let me milk today with no kicking & waited patiently even after she lost interest in her grain, & she's only been milked for about a week. I only managed to get 3 ounces, though, not good. Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
58,845 Posts
Personally, I would save my pennies and buy a regular milking machine. Go to Perry's Milkers and look at theirs. The cheapest model will work just fine. You still have to pump periodically with the hand pumps and it is harder on the teats.

·
Adopted by Goats
1,354 Posts
Get the book It's Not Carpal Tunnel Syndrome:
http://www.amazon.com/Its-Carpal-Tu...6&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=its+not+carpel+tunnal

Years ago I suffered with Capral Tunnel and after strangers kept comming up to me and telling me to take Vit. B6, I finally decided to try it. Cured my Carpal Tunnel. Therapy was a waste of time for me. Surgery has a high failure rate. This book is worth more then any visit to a doctor. I found it in a big city library.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies, I will definitely look into the book & the milker. I didn't know the hand pump could be hard on the goat, either, so that was good to know.

·
Crazy Goat Lady
4,324 Posts