Having Trouble with My Pregnant Doe

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by Camryn, Jun 9, 2015.

1. Camryn

Camryn New Member

Mar 19, 2014
    Northern Ohio
    This is my first time with a kidding doe, so I've been doing a lot of research. Reading, diagrams, pictures, and they've all been very helpful. But I'm very new at this and I'm just having trouble reading my doe's signs! She really should be kidding any day. Her tail is very loose at the base; I could comfortably get my fingers underneath and almost around. She's not really acting like herself, and she has paced and pawed a little bit. I got up numerous times through the night, and her vulva seemed 'puffy,' but there has been no discharge. This morning it looked pretty normal. She's also hollow on both sides.

Am I missing something? Could it be a false labor, or is it normal to show certain signs and not others?

Your advice is much appreciated right now! Thank you!

2. lovinglife

lovinglife Active Member

Jun 6, 2013
    Southern Idaho
    Sounds normal to me, do you have a due date?

3. TDG-Farms

TDG-Farms Dave (TDG Farms) S.E. Washington State

Jul 12, 2013
    All sounds normal. Not unusual for a doe to go over her date by 4 or more days :) No sleep for you.

4. Camryn

Camryn New Member

Mar 19, 2014
    Northern Ohio
    Yeah, she's overdue by a few days. She was due around the 5th. I was kind of worried about that, but the babies have moved and I've been able to feel them up until yesterday. So it is normal for there to be no discharge? I'm planning on sticking close, but does it sound like she could have them soon?

5. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

How do you know she was due on the 5th?

6. Camryn

Camryn New Member

Mar 19, 2014
    Northern Ohio
    Well I'm glad to hear that's normal! It's funny; I'm more nervous than she is. I'll keep people updated- hopefully I'll be posting pictures of some newborns in the near future!
    Thank you!

7. Camryn