Heat,labor,pregnancy?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by Mary1982, Oct 11, 2017.

1. Mary1982

Mary1982 Member

Oct 10, 2017
    Day 7 of discharge. No udder. I'm so confused. Not sure why the person I bought her from was so adamant about pregnancy. Does heat usually last a week? Not from everything I've read but I have no experience at all. Pictures are in order up until this morning.

Attached Files:

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

That isn't a lot of discharge. I would just keep an eye on her.

Mary1982 likes this.

3. Mary1982

Mary1982 Member

Oct 10, 2017
    I'm keeping a really close eye on her. May be the problem

4. cbrossard

cbrossard Active Member

Oct 4, 2014
    They can have a "5 day heat" where they go into heat and then go into heat again about 5 days later, but I think that is usually just if they are around a buck. Anyone have more info about that? If it is heat I would think that you would see other signs like tail wagging. If she is pregnant then it could just be discharge which can pretty much happen throughout the pregnancy (just to keep you wondering if they could be in heat!) but she doesn't look super pregnant... As long as it isn't smelly it shouldn't be a concern, so I would just keep an eye on her to look for any changes in udder or behavior.

Mary1982 likes this.
  5. Mary1982

Mary1982 Member

Oct 10, 2017
    Thank you so much for all the help! Here is a pic of her udder area.

Attached Files:

6. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I agree with a lot that has been said.

I see a lot of discharge there, she even flung it up higher on herself in the third pic.

Later term pregnancy they do have a discharge.

Are you sure there isn't a udder starting?
    It is so hard to tell from the picture, but feel it, does it feel like a small pouch filling with milk or flat nothing in there? Sometimes we can feel it before we see it.