Heat or pregnant?

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Smelly2005au, Apr 29, 2014.

1. Smelly2005au

Smelly2005au New Member

Apr 29, 2014
    Bundaberg
    Hi all ... I am very new to all things Goat. we just purchased goats about 2 weeks ago, I was told the male is working. but the female isnt. I dont know anything much about goats especially nothing to do with breeding. The other day My buck (George) Was moaning so to speak at my doe, an nibbling on her neck. My doe (Nobby) ... Seemed extra uninterested in him Butted him and kept running away. Thou the past 4-5 days i have noticed she is a bit plump, and that her (not sure what you call it) Pooch? is enlarged. She hasnt got an udder yet thou they are a little saggy and all soft. Im not sure what im looking for or at in ways of pregnant goats. But i also thought maybe shes just on heat ? I have no idea ... any imput would be appreciated. The pics below were taken this morning before she was fed. (alot plumpier after eating hehehe) If more info or pics are needed im happy to get all the info needed
    And thanks for having us (George, Nobby and Me) on your forums will be mighty helpful to us in the future im sure :)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Smelly2005au

Smelly2005au New Member

Apr 29, 2014
    Bundaberg
    i forgot to mention we were told they are miniature goats. so i do not know what breeds they are at all apart from being really small.

3. takethelead

takethelead New Member

Dec 17, 2013
    North West georgia
    I wish I was an expert at this but I know if the tip of the lady parts so to speak is pointed down rather than at an angle upwards she's bred.

Sent from my SCH-S738C using Goat Forum mobile app

4. TheGoatWhisperer

TheGoatWhisperer Nibbles! Not again...

Jan 17, 2014
    Oregon
    How is her bag? Loose or tight up against her tummy? She looks really early pregnant if she is. If she was in heat she would be "wanting" the buck...not head butting him.

5. Smelly2005au