Hello from SE Minnesota!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by KatieT, Mar 20, 2011.

1. KatieT

KatieT New Member

Mar 20, 2011
    Minnesota
    Hello Everyone!

I've been lurking around this forum for the past 6 months or so, and I've finally decided that I need to sit down and introduce myself and thank you all for this amazing resource!

I'm very new to goats, but I've been an animal lover my entire life. After graduating from college, I desperately wanted a milk cow but I recognized that a cow was simply not practical for my situation. Two years later, my husband and I took a friend to the state fair. The goat barn was one of the last animal barns that we visited, and while we all admired the goats, what really stuck with us was how friendly the 4-H goat kids were. One girl invited us to help bottlefeed her doeling, and a group of others offered us some of their candy. I remember one girl sleeping next to her goat in the stall while the goat gently picked at her sweatshirt. I also watched a girl milking her Nigerian, and I remember thinking to myself that that was an animal that I could handle. I also felt like I was traveling through a community that I wanted to be part of. I wish I could write a letter to all of those kids telling them what wonderful ambassadors they were!

I went home and started researching milk goats, and Nigerians in particular. I fell in love with them and put deposits down for two doelings this spring. I also found The Goat Spot, where I started reading about how wonderful LaManchas were. Goathappy, I can safely say that you great influenced in my decision to consider LaManchas. :)